Discovery of

the Precious

Welcome to Dürnstein Abbey!

2019 marked the beginning of a new phase in the fascinating history of Dürnstein Abbey. We, the Augustinian Canons of Herzogenburg Abbey, as the owners of Dürnstein Abbey have worked with the State of Lower Austria and the Friends’ Association to create a new museum landscape, opening up a new approach to this landmark of the Wachau Valley.

Dürnstein Abbey is a baroque jewel. Here Provost Hieronymus Übelbacher (1710–1740) succeeded brilliantly in translating the spirit and faith of his time into the language of architecture.

With its newly designed exhibition, we invite you to immerse yourself in the spirit and ideas that underlie the construction of Dürnstein Abbey and to contemplate the meaning of ‘the Good – the Beautiful – the True’.

 

Redesign:

2019

Guided Tours

Daily at 14:00 (in German only)

July to September: also at 11:00

Audioguides in German, English, French, Italian and Spanish available at all times.

Group tours available year-round on request!

Opening Times

28 March to 1 November 2020
Monday to Saturday, 09:00-18:00
Sundays & public holidays, 10:00-18:00

July to September: open every Saturday until 20:00

Church Services

A service is held every Sunday at 09:30 in the Abbey Church – all are welcome!

Event tip

Handicraft market

From 4 to 7 June, Dürnstein Abbey will be the venue for the first ever arts and crafts market, with around 50 exhibitors presenting their works/products.

The entrance is free!

A Short History

This history of Dürnstein Abbey begins in 1372 with the consecration of a Mary Chapel paid for by Elisabeth von Kuenring. In 1410, Augustinian Canons were brought to Dürnstein from Wittingau in Bohemia and the expanded building complex was established as a monastery. Over the course of the fifteenth century, the canons constructed the church, priory and cloister.

300 years after the monastery was founded, Hieronymus Übelbacher was elected Provost. He was in charge of the baroque renovations and oversaw the new artistic concept.

The Abbey Church, which has been a parish church since 1745, is dedicated to the Virgin Mary’s assumption into Heaven (patronal festival: 15 August). The tower of the Abbey Church, which dates to 1733, is the most elegant building in the entire complex. With its striking blue and white colours, it has become the landmark of the Wachau Valley.

Many monasteries were dissolved during the reign of Emperor Joseph II. This fate befell Dürnstein Abbey on 7 January 1788. The Abbey was dissolved and given as a parish to the Augustinian Canons of Herzogenburg Abbey, who still own it today.

Would you like to keep in touch with Dürnstein Abbey?

Sign up for our Newsletter and receive up-to-date information about special exhibitions, concerts, church services, special tours and much more!

Newsletter sign-up